Multiple DFS Namespaces on Windows Server 200x – Standard Edition.

When Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition was first released it only supported one DFS Namespace or root as some people refer to them.

A little known hot fix available since July 2005 and subsequently included in Windows Server Service Pack 2 removed this limitation.

Moving forward a few years, Windows Server Standard Edition 2008 and 2008 R2 both now natively support multiple DFS Namespaces.

Hotfix Article 903651

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.